Hello, Haiti!

Wow, a whole year has passed since I started medical school and what an amazing ride it has been! So with six whole weeks between M1 and M2, I finally have a little time to continue my travels. And where better than Haiti, the Pearl of the Caribbean?

This summer is part of my public health field experience, during which I will be working with the Haitian staff at Hospital Bernard Mevs and Hospital St. Damian in Port-au-Prince.

So, per usual, I’ve summarized the trip so far with a few GIFs:

First, you arrive at the airport and everyone wants to take your bag…

…and then you don’t know where the driver is (or if he’s forgotten you)…

…but then he arrives and the world is right again 🙂

So you finally get to the compound and there are all these other volunteers there already…

…some of whom have never been to a country quite like Haiti, and whose reaction to it goes something like this…

To which you think to yourself…

Oh look, dinnertime! (Why does it always come back to food??)

Jk, sounds like everyone’s going to go eat at the whitest restaurant ever. Who wants a cheeseburger? Or a pizza? In Haiti?

Ahh. Well now that you’re full, it’s time to head back to the compound for some dranks and small talk…

…and to practice your very minimal Creole

And all this on just Day 1! Now it’s back to business. The rest of the week gets a little more exciting, of course…bones sticking out, violent vomiting, seizures, you name it.

Good thing we are all medical professionals here.

“WAIT WHAT, we’re out of (fill in the blank)?? They don’t have (insert expensive machine) at this hospital? What do you mean I can’t order (insert obscure test)?”

DON’T PANIC. The Haitian staff are awesome and got your back 🙂 It’s also a great time to get creative with your resources.

Oh WAIT, HOLD THE PHONE AGAIN. I’m just an M2…basically useless in a hospital lol. Hmm gotta find something else to fill the hours not spent shadowing.

Found it: the medical records library! Aka my temporary home.

Ohhh, there was a purpose to coming here. That beloved/hated buzzword “research.” In this case to help evaluate a residency program.

Welp, this has been fun! That about sums up the major points of the trip so far (which will last of total of 4 weeks). For the moment I’m out of gifs, but don’t worry I’ll try to make another update when I make my transition from Hospital Bernard Mevs to Hospital St. Damian.

Now back to work and further exploration of this amazing country 🙂

Na’we!

Cathy

Leave a comment